Chicago Natural Hair Meet Up

Today I went to my first natural hair meetup and it was super fun, even though I was running on CP time and got there pretty late 😦  Still got to mingle and isn’t that what it’s all about?  Having fun, chit chatting, exchanging information = ALWAYS WIN!

It’s quite nice to put a real in person face to the web personas that you are used to admiring, tweeting with, or reading the blogs of.  Lovely Leila Noelliste of Black Girl Long Hair put on the event and it was held at the Little Black Pearl of Chicago.  People brought products to trade and some jewelry was on sale, which allowed me to meet my buddy Bree of Boutique Unique and buy a gorgeous cranberry colored bracelet which I will rock the heck out of in NYC this week.

She’s so sweet and pretty, check out her boutique for great priced jewelry and shirts

Bree and Socialitedreams

Shout outs to her and Tori from A Kinky Hair Monologue whom I got to meet.  Last but not least, it was a pleasure to meet Patrice, Ms. Afrobella herself!  She was oh so cute with her big pretty hair!  Quite the bella indeed 🙂

Socialitedreams and Afrobella

The weather decided to pull a Chicago and go from 65 degrees Friday to 30 degrees and snowing Saturday, but we all came out and had fun!  It was a great meetup and I look forward to any future ones!

8 Responses to “Chicago Natural Hair Meet Up”

  1. lifejourneytobenatural Says:

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun!! 🙂 I should find a local natural hair meetup to just share talks about hair, products, hair styles, and to meet new people. You looks so happy meeting everyone. Were you nervous?

    I love the hair accessory in one of the ladies hair to the right. Flowers, feathers, hair pins, all are adoring accessories to use to beautify the hair. I can be an accessory junkie. haha

    I love the bracelet sold by Bree. It is quite lovely.

  2. lifejourneytobenatural Says:

    Thank you for emailing back. I will look into seeing if there is one in Southern California. Unlike you, I do not know anyone online who I chat with often about natural hair, prodcuts, hair accessories, etc. See you already have a rapport with these ladies. I know I can be quite shy. I am open to new things and experiences with learning about care and styling natural hair.

    The feathery accessory is really cute! 😉 It stands out and goes nicely with her hair. I should check out Torrid to see if they have this hair accessory next time I am in the mall. http://www.etsy.com also have beautiful accessories for the hair.

  3. ~Back to Curly~ Says:

    I love all the natural ladies in the picture! It must have been a great time;-). Must check out Bree’s boutique…the color of that bracelet is sweeeet!

    I went to a natural hair meetup a few weeks back and had sooo much fun, would be nice to attend another here in NY…for some reason or another they are few and far between, but when we do get together it’s always a special treat;-0

  4. belle Says:

    Hi, i read through your archives and noticed you discuss skin health a lot. from November-January, I broke out pretty bad, and I attributed it to trying to ween myself off proactive. I did some research and realized that I was actually reacting to the vitamins I was taking daily. Centrum in particular. Evidently it has a high dosage of iodine that causes cystic breakouts. So if you take vitamins, I would advice you to research them carefully.

  5. une autre naturelle Says:

    Thanks for sharing. It seems like everyone had such a great time. I hope I hear about a meet up happening in the New York area.

  6. Chicago Natural Hair Meetup Part 2 « Socialite Dreams's Weblog Says:

    […] http://bglhonline.com/ again!!  I can’t wait to see my fellow naturals again  If you read my previous post about the first meetup, you guys know that it was a good time and I hope that anyone in the Chicago area will come to join […]

  7. Merkel calls Obama to complain about surveillance | muponorop Says:

    […] Topics: castle   Humble Bundle   Apple.com   Miley Cyrus Wrecking Ball   Flossie […]

  8. "Buy Twitter Followers" Says:

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading
    it, you can be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will
    often come back in the future. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great posts,
    have a nice holiday weekend!


Leave a comment