Gotta be FIERCE

[tweetmeme source=”socialitedreams” only_single=false]

The featured blogger today is M. Mcdermott of http://fiercebeautyandfashion.wordpress.com. Interested in being featured as well? Check here for more information.


1. Who’s your celebrity inspiration for hair?  Makeup?  Fashion style? (can be different answers for each)
As crazy as it sounds, my celebrity inspiration for hair right now is Niki Minaj.  I love the fact that she takes risks with her hair (though not all of them are good! LOL)!  I sometimes think of my hair as an accessory too and she definitely has fun with hers!  For makeup, I look up to Queen Latifah because her looks are always effortless and flawless!  Fashion is tricky because I take inspiration for all celebs, as long as it fits me and my personality.

2. What 3 makeup items can’t you live without?
My Mary Kay Liquid foundation is definitely one of them.  It has been the only foundation to date that gives me the sheer coverage I need.  Another one would have to be my Avon Extra Lasting lip gloss in Constant Coral.  I love the color and it does last most of the day.  My third item is definitely my Too Faced Full Frontal eyeshadow.  It’s a brown color with a little shimmer and it always brings out my eyes for a great natural look.

3. How would you describe your style?
My style is definitely accessory driven!  I sometimes base my whole outfit on a particular accessory I want to wear!  Though I’ve been a tomboy most of my life and will still rock my jeans and Reeboks when the feeling moves me, I can be a girly girl too with cute dresses and bold colored tops.  Regardless of what I wear though, it has to be comfortable!

4. Do you have a signature look or item that you are known for?
My funky accessories, especially my earrings!  My family and friends know how much of a fanatic I am when it comes to super huge earrings! I have hoops you can put your hand through! My fashion jewelry is currently overflowing out of a two section jewelry box and shoe box!  It’s so addictive!

5. What’s your favorite makeup trend of all time? favorite fashion look?
My favorite makeup trend is the smoky eye because anyone can rock that and there are so many different ways to achieve the look.  My favorite fashion look is denim!   Jeans have and forever will be the most versatile piece of clothing to me and will never go out of style!

6. What upcoming fashion and beauty things are you most looking forward to for fall?

I’m looking forward to the shoes most of all!  I love boots and though I live in Florida and can’t rock the thigh highs like I want to, I can still get some ankle boots that are cute an still hot weather friendly!  I’m also ready to try my hand at the sequins trend!  I love the new designs coming out and would be a great way to amp up my wardrobe.

7. What drew you to blogging?  What blogs inspire you?
I actually started blogging when I entered a contest on Yahoo! Shine to be a Beauty Guru last year. I wanted to get back to my writing after my original life plan didn’t pan out and grabbed the opportunity.  Once I won that, I realized I can do this beauty blogging thing and it took off so fast, I’m just now catching up to everything!  So many blogs inspire me but to name of few of the ones I’m truly digging are Where Did U Get That (the photography and outfits are AMAZING!), grit and glamour (her personality and fashion sense is awesome!), and Yahoo! Shine (that’s my first blogging home and the community always inspires me!)
8. If you could trade looks with any celebrity, dead or alive, whom would it be?
It would have to be Alicia Keys.  She looks gorgeous in anything she wears while maintaining that urban swagger.  A tomboy-turned-girly-girl can truly appreciate that!

Be sure to check out http://fiercebeautyandfashion.wordpress.com/ for more on our featured blogger!


Subscribe in a reader

bloglovin

9 Responses to “Gotta be FIERCE”

  1. MJ Says:

    Girl this is awesome!!! You did an awesome job and thanks so much for featuring me!! 🙂

  2. Greg Says:

    I am a young white guy that finds black women very attractive (I am a lurker over at Beyond Black and White, which is how I got here, I followed the hyperlink in your name), and I’m hoping to start dating a black woman soon.

    My issue with black girls is one that I know has been covered on the interracial dating sites for black women, and that is the issue of weight. I see so many black girls that have beautiful faces (like this woman featured here) and beautiful skin, and frankly, are just huge. I mean, 50 lbs. overweight is nothing, some of these girls are 100 lbs. overweight. What is the deal with that?

    It makes me a little crazy. I think, “if only”. But I just can’t see myself with any woman (black, white, hispanic, asian) that is fat like that. I’m sorry if that makes me shallow, but I want a trim, attractive woman. I’m not lookinig for thin like a model, just not huge.

    I realize the response from those women (and others) is going to be angry, or at best, to “just go find yourself that kind of woman, then, and leave me alone), and I will go do that, but I know that I can’t be the only guy that feels like this.

    There are just SO MANY black women that would be just incredible-looking if they were at a normal weight. It’s just such a waste, I think. I love the way black women look, I mean, I love it, BUT, I just can’t be attracted to a woman whose weight is far out of proportion to her height. I feel bad for saying it, but that’s the way it is. I’m a typical guy, so shoot me.

    • Socialite Dreams Says:

      Hi Greg…I know what you mean, there are a lot of overweight women period, but I certainly see it with lots and lots of black women whenever I’m out.

      There has been a wake up call for black ladies to get themselves in better shape for health, for dating, for competing on the world’s stage like other groups. http://www.beyondblackwhite.com/part-ii-of-rainbow-men-like-em-skinny-share-the-secrets-of-your-weight-loss-success/ Hopefully many heed that call, I know that I have (down 20 lbs and counting, woot) So there’s hope. I hope that you find an attractive, smart, good woman for you and stay on your workout plan too lol, we like some eyecandy!

      There’s lots of stress and low self esteem with women these days and they seem to be eating it away and not wanting to workout, but hopefully getting the thought of a better life for themselves will lead to eating right, working out, and LIVING well 🙂

  3. Greg Says:

    You are very cute in that photo in the upper corner. Plus, I like your ‘do, I’m a complete pushover for natural hair.

    Okay, I’ll stop now.

  4. Scott Says:

    I don’t care about the subject of this post even a little bit, but I have to agree with Greg – you are very, very cute. It’s too bad you are in Chicago and I am in Seattle.

    That whole time-space continuum thing is a huge pain.

    Scott

    Post-Script: I dig the hair, too.

  5. adrianalemus Says:

    What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

  6. Grit and Glamour Says:

    MJ, thanks for the shout, honey! I so appreciate it!

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com


Leave a Reply

