The Kinky Hair Chick

[tweetmeme source=”socialitedreams” only_single=false]

The featured blogger today is Lilly Ashe, also known as The Kinky Hair Chick. Interested in being featured as well? Check here for more information.

Lilly Ashe-

1. How long have you been a natural hair diva?

Being a natural hair diva, is something I can say I have been pretty much ever since high
school. I went through periods off and on after school where I wore my hair in a relaxed
state than back again than back again to being natural. I was on a yo-yo when it came to
my hair, then after the birth of my first son I decided that I wanted to get locks in my hair,
and ended up having those for about a period of two years. Then I took the
locks out  and I was able to grow my relaxed hair out to shoulder
length.
When my family and I changed towns I ended up changing hair stylists and she over
pressed my hair, it started to break so I got cornrows by her again and then my hair
starting to come out on the edges due to her braids being to tight!! Still growing my edges
back to say the least.
That is when I decided to go back to doing what I do best and that was having my hair in
its natural state. However the only dilemma was that although I wanted to wear my hair
in its natural state, the only way that I had worn my hair natural was always in braids and
sew –ins. That continued all through high school and then some, and when I had it in a
locked state. So I never knew how to do my own natural hair, or even where to start. I did
not want any more relaxers at all; I wanted versatility by not having locks and the
freedom of not having to pay someone to do my hair for me.  That is why I created kinkyhairchick so that I could show everyone my natural hair care journey. But keep in mind it is not just limited to hair; it is all around about being a better you and living a natural lifestyle. Everything from hair, health, fitness, business will be
discussed.

2. What’s your usual hair regimen?

In the first couple of months when I started to sport a twa, I washed my hair every three days with Aubrey’s organics honey suckle rose shampoo, and conditioned with their coconut honey suckle conditioner. My hair was extremely dry in the beginning I even think I had some of that scab hair, yikes! That shampoo helped to smooth it out some and I used a leave in conditioner from Karens body beautiful their hair milk, and then finished it off with some curly qs curly jealousy. I so love that stuff!!!

Those three things really helped quenched my hairs thirst, from the shock that it was taking. Now that it has been about 4 ½ months in, my hair has grown 2 ½ inches and I now am able to do a little bit of styling, all though the main thing I like to do is rock my fro and leave it alone. I no longer wash every three days but once a week, with karens body beautiful conditioning shampoo, I do a deep conditioner with karens body beautiful hair mask. Followed by the leave in above and the sometimes Karens body beautiful hair nectar it comes in any scent that you like.

3. Who’s your celebrity inspiration for hair?  Makeup?  Fashion style?

My favorite hair inspiration right now is Lela James and Ya,Ya, formerly known as the Americas next top model that lost next to Eve, although I think that she should have won. I think they both embrace elegance and a pride of expressing their culture. I don’t really have anyone that I look to for fashion since I pull ideas and bits from here and there. Never really one person, but when it comes to make-up I like to see what Tyra Banks comes out with. I learned makeup from her book when I was younger and have used all her tips ever since.

4. What 3 makeup items can’t you live without?

Three makeup items that I can not live with out is Mac’s compact to powder foundation, Mac Eye Plush Thickening Mascara and burt’s bees lip balm in any falvor.

5. How would you describe your style?

My style is somewhat on the everything side, I have a very eclectic earthy sort of look with, a dash of conservative. I love everything natural from food to my hair and it shows in the style that I have. I wear a lot of peace signs, classy silver earrings, because I can’t wear anything else besides sterling. I love pants and tees and always one to buy shoes no one else would dare buy.  One thing I am known for are my funky looking head scarves, and my roman shoes sandals especially stylish ones are things that I love!

7. What made you go natural with your hair?

I went natural to stop being on a yo-yo hair kick when it came to my hair. I have very high standards for my hair and when the last person (stylist) could not get it right I decided to go solo, doing it all my self…. As you can see, I love being natural inside and out and would not have it any other way!!

To know more about Lilly Ashe please visit kinkyhairchick.com

bloglovin

5 Responses to “The Kinky Hair Chick”

  1. The Kinky Hair Chick « Socialite Dreams | Cosmetics Says:

    […] See the rest here: The Kinky Hair Chick « Socialite Dreams […]

  2. eden Says:

    Great blog!Very interesting posts;)))

  3. Nayantara Says:

    I love the title! This is a good post. I used to blog at FabBlab, but this is my new blog: http://www.seren-dip-a-tea.blogspot.com/ Please follow 😀

  4. Greg Says:

    Man, she is beautiful. I love natural hair.


Leave a Reply

