Kinky Curly Curling Custard pt II

[tweetmeme source=”socialitedreams” only_single=false]

The other day I blogged about trying kinky curly custard for the first time, liking the results but knowing that I could have done better with the product.  A helpful reader, Farah, linked us to a video of her using the kccc and it greatly helped me for the second application!  The key was to brush the curls with the gel in, with a denman brush (or paddle wig brush which is what I used, but I plan to get a denman) to make the curls spring to form and distribute the product throughout.  What a difference it made!

Diane Wig Brush

So let’s have this picture step by step shall we?  First up, I did a pre-poo (pre-shampoo treatment to moisturize and condition the hair to prepare for the drying nature of shampooing) with olive oil, coconut oil, and Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose.  I then washed my hair with Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree shampoo and conditioned with the V05 passionfruit smoothie conditioner.

Hair straight out of the shower:

Then I scrunched in Kinky Curly Knot Today in sections with the hair soaking wet.

Taking the paddle brush, I brushed that through a bit to make sure that it got to all of my curls.  Now it was time for the Curling Custard!  I also applied it in sections, smoothing some on in an area and then brushing it through while making sure that the hair was still super wet.  There was a cup of water on the sink that I used to pour more water into my hair if I felt that it wasn’t soaking wet.  By brushing, I noticed that the curls popped to become much more defined and the results were a super curly pretty head of hair:

So I am very happy with the product now that I’ve figured out how to best use it.  That brush can make all of the difference if you have a distinct curl pattern and want to make the curls stand out.  My cousin liked it so much that she is on her way over so that I can do her hair too! Lol, there’s a referral 😉

After the hair dried:

And what’s even better is that I got super cute SECOND day hair!  My hair NEVER looks the same the 2nd day with a wash-n-go, only if I do twistouts, so I was very very pleased to wake up and take off the bonnet to find my hair looked pretty much the same 😀  Just fluffed with Shea Moisture Curls Smoothie and kept it moving right on out the door!  Total win, so easy.

Thumbs up for the Kinky Curly Curling Custard, I think I’ve found a holy grail item!  Hope this helps those with questions on its use 🙂

bloglovin

10 Responses to “Kinky Curly Curling Custard pt II”

  1. Farah Jones Says:

    Hey girlie, I am so glad it worked for you. Your hair looks too cute! Gotta love the KCCC!

  2. Onyx Rose Says:

    Glad you like it. I can’t wait to try it!

  3. Rochelle Spencer Says:

    This is too cute! Your hair looks so healthy and vibrant!

  4. Monique Says:

    Denman brushes are heaven sent! Since I’ve gone natural I’ve seen why they are so good for defining our curls and detangling. You are absolutely right that the key is brushing with product in. Your hair must be soaking wet with good slip to get the curls you want.

  5. mizChartreuse Says:

    Black hair is the prettiest on the planet. Sure, we can straighten our hair to our heart’s content and add weave for length…we can go all ways. But can other girls do to their hair what we do to ours?

    Nope.

    We win. The lies shall not prevail!

    Your hair looked wonderful, dear.

  6. Kennedy Says:

    Hey curly cutie, love the hair. All your tips are awesome. I’m taking notes for when I ever decide to take the plunge again.

  7. Kristen Says:

    Thank you for this review! I really want to try these products. I think I might wait until my hair is a little longer though.


Leave a Reply

