Kinky Curly Curling Custard

[tweetmeme source=”socialitedreams” only_single=false]

I found myself in Whole Foods yesterday, somewhere that I never am because there aren’t any in my area of Chicago, and what did I instantly gravitate towards?  You got it!  Beauty, skincare, and hair section.  Oh readers, you know me so well!

Low and behold, I came upon the Kinky Curly products and felt my arm automatically reaching out for the Kinky Curly Curling Custard (KCCC) which I’ve been wanting to try for quite some time now and just never made it to the store for a tub.  The Kinky Curly Knot Today (KCKT) was already in my arsenal because it came in that 4A kit that I mentioned in a previous post from CurlMart.

The scents of their products is a win in my book, with the KCKT smelling sweet and slightly fruity and the KCCC smells like cake/frosting!  I don’t smell it so much once IN my hair, but when I sniffed the actual products it’s sweet and pleasant.

Okay, so for the lowdown:  I cowashed my hair with Vo5 Passionfruit Smoothie because, as I said in another post, it makes my curls POP with definition.  Once out of the shower with soaking wet hair like the KCCC suggests, I slathered on a bit of KCKT in sections so that the hair could have a bit of moisture from a leave-in and then smooth on Curly Custard throughout.  Many naturals warn of using too much KCCC only to end up with crunchy hair and knowing that I can be a BIT heavyhanded, I tried my best to not use much.  I probably ended up not using enough, lol!  Yeesh.

Reader Farah has a great video up with her Kinky Curly routine (thanks Farah!) and I’ll be getting a denman brush so that I can follow her steps

soaking wet curls

Overall I like what I am seeing, but I would have been more careful with separating sections and smoothing on the KCCC with a purposeful hand.  I can see that it is making the curls hang better and gives the definition that it is supposed to.  The PRODUCT gets an A from me, my styling capabilities on the other hand get a C, lol.   My hair always looks better in person than in these photos, I’m finding.  So here’s ROUGHLY how it looks, but it’s prettier in person.


bloglovin

6 Responses to “Kinky Curly Curling Custard”

  1. farah jones Says:

    Girl I love KCCC! I use it all the time and I did a video about it a little while ago.. I have found that if I use a denman brush it really defines my curls. your hair came out great btw! it looks really soft

  2. Alisha Says:

    Your hair looks adorable! I was curious about this product since I heard good things. I’m going to try it out.

  3. krissy90220 Says:

    Nice! I did a review on Kinky-Curly a while back and a video today. I love the smell too!

    -Krissy
    http://www.addictedtoallthingspretty.com

  4. Kinky Curly Curling Custard pt II « Socialite Dreams Says:

    […] other day I blogged about trying kinky curly custard for the first time, liking the results but knowing that I could have done better with the product.  A helpful reader, […]

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Does Kinky Curly Custard work just as well on Caucasian curly but
    Not kinky hair?


Leave a Reply

