2nd Natural Hair Meetup – Chicago

This past Saturday Leila of http://www.bglhonline.com hosted the second Chicago natural hair meetup and it was so much fun!  The first meetup was more a meet and chat type event, where we sat and shared hair tips/stories/questions while munching on muffins and goodies.  THIS meetup was a vendors paradise however because there were about 11 vendors and all of the wonderful natural hair girlies showed up to buy things and get information.  The turnout was much larger this time too; there were about 30 people last time and I’d say over 100 this time!  Great fun 😀

I was selling www.biggirlcosmetics.com makeup and we did well.  You all KNOW that I love me some makeup so it was enjoyable to describe it and do makeovers on people or color match them.  Congrats to my boss, the owner of the line, Kiley Russell because Big Girl Cosmetics just got picked up by 20 Macy’s stores!  And the new retail location should be opening in Hyde Park Chicago this summer like July.  Maybe Michelle Obama will come home and let me do her makeup 😛

What really made the event so fun is getting to know my fellow beautiful naturals.  So laid back and easy going with sharing information!  And just genuinely happy to see each other succeed, talk about sisterhood camaraderie!  Everyone was buying up makeup and jewelry, squealing over each other’s hairstyles and asking tips, complimenting, and just joking around while having fun 😀  I loved it!  There is supposed to be another one at the beginning of July and needless to say I’ll be there bright and early.

Fabulous chicas mingled with at the event:

Bree of Shop Boutique Unique She’s funny and cool, I love hanging with her at the meetups!  I seriously wanted to buy up ALL of her jewelry, it’s so beautiful and she even handpaints and makes so much of it.  Just GORGEOUS things, check out her store by clicking the link.  Aren’t these pretty?

Image of Branch Earrings

Patrice of Afrobella She is beyond sweet and down to earth, even though she’s a big time blogger for VOGUE black now!!  Couldn’t have happened to a better person 🙂  I wish her luck on her blogger journey, doing it big girl!  Keep it up 😀

Chris-Tia, author of “Thank God I’m Natural” This lady is a total class act.  Super nice and just BEAUTIFUL, I loved her hair.  I meant to ask where she got it done because it was comprised of intricate twists, but probably not done in Chicago 😦  She signed books for me and my boss, just a total doll 😀

Photos from the event:

Big Girl Cosmetics Table

the fabulous Bree of Shop Boutique Unique

Me and Chris-Tia author of "Thank God I'm Natural"

5 Responses to “2nd Natural Hair Meetup – Chicago”

  1. cdonalds22 Says:

    Love the site missy. I do get my twists done in Chicago. I have two contacts if you’re interested. There’s really nothing too complicated about them. It’s just cornrows in the front and twists in the back. I want to do something a little more crazy this summer, but we’ll see. It was so great meeting you. Definitely stay in touch.

    Stay natural,
    CT

  2. JenellyBean Says:

    I’m so jealous the this is the 2nd Natural Hair Meetup you’ve participated in andI can’t find ONE in NYC!

    I love ChrisTia Donaldson! I love her book too! I would love to meet her one day!

  3. mizChartreuse Says:

    I love Chris-Tia Donaldson too!

  4. Roshunda Russell Says:

    Hi Fellow Natural Diva! lol

    I am putting together a natural hair informational meetup. I want to make this an enjoyable event.
    Can I ask, besides your blog how did you go by promoting your event. Did you get samples from beauty supply stores?
    The event will be a few vendors, gift bag with goodies, special youtube guest. can u shed some insight on how you put your event together

  5. aeilsfxkgos@yahoo.com Says:

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually was once a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to more delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?


Leave a Reply

