Making my curls POP

Apparently my curlies LOVE them some protein 😀  I used V05 Passionfruit smoothie conditioner with soy milk proteins for the first time and WOWZA, I knew my hair was curly but I’d never had them all pop out and be so defined with NOTHING but a cowash.  Matter of fact, I’d never  had them that curly and defined EVER.  And this conditioner only costs about .70 cents, so really, can you go wrong??  I purchased at Walgreens.

edit: In my excitement, I forgot to post ingredients!  Thanks to JenellyBean for reminding me in the comments 😛 No ‘cones for the curlies who don’t like those, includes biotin too!  Even though that’s the last thing on the list so not sure how MUCH is included.  It’s slippery and more on the thin side, so I wouldn’t use as a deep conditioner since I prefer creamy thick ones for that, such as any Aubrey Organics conditioner.  But this is great for a cowash sometimes!  I also wouldn’t overdo it because of the protein and not wanting a protein imbalance 🙂  But it’s great for maybe every other week.

ingredients list: Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Cetrimonium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Glyceryl Stearate, DMDM Hydantoin, Disodium EDTA, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Orange 4, Red 4, Polysorbate 20, Red 40, Propylene Glycol, Stearyl Alcohol, Steareth 21, Tocopheryl Acetate, Passiflora Incarnata Flower Extract, Panthenol, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Prunus Persica (Peach) Fruit Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Niacinamide, Biotin (Vitamin H)

I have 4a hair mainly with 3c in a patch directly in the center of my head.  The 4a curls often just fluff into an afro unless coaxed into a curly pattern, so while it generally looks like a regular ‘fro, the coily curls are there if I actually work to define them, just letting you know what type of hair I have so that you can decide if you want to try the conditioner 🙂

Pics of my hair straight out the shower, no product but the Vo5 used:

The conditioner smells super nice, fresh and fruity.  It’s really like a fruit smoothie, so definitely an A on the scent.  A for the curl definition and I’ll probably leave some in as a leave in conditioner the next time that I wash my hair with it.  Give it a go, girls 😀

Hair Hero of the day: coily curly girl Sophie Okonedo

10 Responses to “Making my curls POP”

  1. JenellyBean Says:

    Impressive results from conditioner alone.

    Are there any forbidden ingredients in here?

    What made you go out and buy this?

  2. ~Back to Curly~ Says:

    haven’t tried this one yet…might have to invest for the Summer! For real though, you can.not. beat the price:-0!

  3. lifejourneytobenatural Says:

    Your curls look lovely. 😉 Did the curls stay for a while after the cowash? I have heard of others using Vo5 as well. I have to post my thoughts about using Garneir Fructis Triple Nutrition Conditioner as a cowash. It combines olive oil, avocado oil, and shea oil. I love the smell and it worked well for me as a cowash. I should be posting this really soon. I really feel our hair does not like harsh chemicals, but the essential oils to soften and let it be in its natural state. I LOVE the smells of Vo5 conditioners! So dang yummy.

    • Socialite Dreams Says:

      Garnier and Vo5 smell so darn good and fruity! I agree 😀 Once dry, they didn’t stay as curly defined, but that was because I didn’t add any curl defining or styling cream, shame on me. I just raked some moisturizer through with my hands because I had my baby cousin tugging at my leg and needed to go, but next time I’d want to run some gel or kinky curly curling custard like what you talked about in your post, could make for a very good wash n go!

  4. naturallyalise1 Says:

    I was pleasantly surprised with the results I have gotten from VO5, especially considering the price!

  5. Kinky Curly Curling Custard « Socialite Dreams's Weblog Says:

    […] so for the lowdown:  I cowashed my hair with Vo5 Passionfruit Smoothie because, as I said in another post, it makes my curls POP with definition.  Once out of the shower with soaking wet hair like the […]

  6. Shockingly Good Drugstore Finds « Socialite Dreams Says:

    […] have to say that I am in LOVE with V05 conditioner, that would be my holy grail drugstore purchase. Will you believe that it is only $.79??? 79 CENT […]

  7. Kinky Curly Curling Custard pt II « Socialite Dreams Says:

    […] So let’s have this picture step by step shall we?  First up, I did a pre-poo (pre-shampoo treatment to moisturize and condition the hair to prepare for the drying nature of shampooing) with olive oil, coconut oil, and Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle Rose.  I then washed my hair with Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree shampoo and conditioned with the V05 passionfruit smoothie conditioner. […]

  8. AuroraE95 Says:

    Ima try this
    I was looking at some Vo5 but for some reason a didnt get it
    I hope this defines my frizzy curls lol

  9. AuroraE95 Says:

    Omg i was just lookin at it today, it was only a $1 but i didnt get it..crap


Leave a Reply

