Skincare/Hair Products Reviews

As promised in my previous skincare posting, I am now updating with reviews of the products used.  For the most part, I am quite happy would recommend the products, but there were some blips and changes to a couple.

Kiss My Face brand citrus cleanser:

This cleanser is mild and wonderful, not much of a smell surprisingly.  I thought that it would have a strong citrus aroma (which I’d love, since I like citrus) but it’s soft and creamy without being overbearing.  Honestly, while using it, can’t smell at all and only can if I shove my face into the container.  The skin is not at all left feeling stripped or dry, in fact, VELVETY is the way that I would describe my skin afterwards.  Plush and supple skin is wonderful to have, wouldn’t you say?  I give this product an A+ I have normal to dry skin, so it works well and according to this review, it even works wonderfully for oily skin types!  Because of the wonderful experience with the face cleanser, I would quite like to try out the citrus lavender moisturizer

Invigorating Face Wash by Himalaya

This face wash has the texture of most body washes, gel type with a pick-me-up scent so it is quite invigorating!  I like it for the morning because the scent wakes me up and this too doesn’t leave the skin feeling stripped.  The cinnamon is the main scent and is quite pleasant.  I give this product an A as well.  Clean skin that isn’t left dry or irritated!

Sea Tonic Toner with Rosewater and Aloe

Zia toner is pleasant, I spray onto a cotton ball and use it after either cleanser.  Skin is balanced and I can’t complain.  I also have some Skinceuticals dry skin formula, which also works well for me.  Toner can be left out of the regimen, I just happened to see the normal/dry skin formula and picked some up, but it’s really just like refreshment that isn’t necessary so don’t feel that it’s required.

Burt’s Bees acne solutions spot treatment

I give this product an F.  The scent is VERY overpowering, smells like black licorice and pine sol or something!  NOT what I want to put on the face, but then I said fine, I’ll choke a little bit if it can clear up my face.  Turns out the complete opposite happened, it broke me out and I’m not sure from which ingredient but perhaps salicylic acid and I don’t agree??  Even if I were perfectly fine with salicylic acid, the smell is bad enough and strong enough to get a huge veto.  I returned it because I wasn’t liking any bits of it.  F-

So instead, I went to buy Neutrogena on the spot Acne vanishing cream with benzoyl peroxide and that stuff is wonderful!  It doesn’t smell at all let alone overpoweringly so, is a nice cream that doesn’t feel harsh, and best of all is clearing up acne so I give this product an A+ Some products can make the skin feel tight and dry when it’s doing it’s work, but this doesn’t have that effect and I am GRATEFUL.  It promises maximum strength effectiveness while being gentle and it lives up to this claim.  Every time that I wash my face/tone,  I add some of this afterwards and before moisturizing, also sometimes if I am just sitting at home during the day.

So far it has been a week of this regimen and the only blip was the awful experience for 3 days with the Burt’s Bees.  I tried to give it a chance, thinking that maybe it gets worse before it gets better, but it ADDED acne, irritated my skin, BURNED on application, and nearly knocked out my sense of scent along with causing coughing fits.  The only thing that I feel is missing from the program is something that fades dark spots because I have many from past acne.  The products I am using now will perhaps keep the skin clear and smooth, but what about the hyperpigmentation NOW?  I need to find something amazing for that, that works for brown girls, and that doesn’t cost my first born child.

Now on to hair.  I experimented a bit this week with products, adding honey to my line-up as a pre-poo treatment before I shampoo’d with my new Trader Joes Tingle Tree Shampoo.

What is a pre-poo treatment, you may ask and it’s a valid question.  Pre-poo’ing is the process of using oils or other nourishing ingredients to deep condition the hair before washing with shampoo, which can sometimes strip the hair. Using a pre-poo imparts extra moisture and protects strands.  My pre-poo was a mixture of honey, coconut oil, and olive oil which I then let saturate under a heat cap for 40 minutes.  Upon removing the cap, I was mortified, lol!  The hair was sticky and hard with honey so I was terrified that I’d used too much and that it would have an effect like when someone gets gum stuck in the hair, so I thought that I’d ruined everything.  I hurried and hopped into the shower and you can not even imagine my relief when the water hit it and the hair became soft and manageable!  So don’t feel scared or worried if after conditioning with the honey that the hair SEEMS to be a hot sticky mess, because really it worked well.  I’d been warned that shampooing with the tingle tree could leave the hair feeling stripped and dry, but once the honey mask mixture was applied it protected the hair and there was no overly dry/stripped feeling!  Bravo 🙂  Generally, I cowash my hair which is washing with conditioner instead of shampoo because it is so moisturizing and can clean also if the scalp is paid attention to, but sometimes I like to shampoo with a mild, natural shampoo just to be sure that my scalp doesn’t develop scabs or sores from product build-up.

4 Responses to “Skincare/Hair Products Reviews”

  1. tiffaneydanielle Says:

    Girl this is an easy way to pay for all our make up, hair products, and shopping sprees lol

    http://mylikes.com/signup?token=theycallhertaz

  2. SO FAR, SO CHIC Says:

    Caroline Hirons (the lady who wrote for my blog and knows everything about skincare) recommended vitamin E for clearing up marks and scars. She said literally buy the capsules you would normally take orally and break them open; apply to your skin.

    I imagine this might help with pigmentation too, as vitamin E is so essential for skin health. It definitely couldn’t hurt anyway. I’m going to try this for clearing up the mess left by my recent outbreak, and also for the scar on my arm (where I fell on barbed wire, if you recall!).

  3. Jasmyn Says:

    I might have to try the Kiss My Face line. I’ve been looking for a decent facial cleanser for so long. So thanks for the review!


Leave a Reply

