Skin Program Begins

In my previous post I talked about my desire for beautiful skin and the fact that I need to research into getting a glowing, healthy, even complexion.  Well readers, I went to the health store where I purchased all of my wonderful hair care items and stocked up on a new set of products aimed at completing that goal.  As I am apt to do, I spent the weekend looking into reviews and products, finding out the characteristics of my skin type, delving into knowledge about what products can aid hyperpigmentation for brown skin, and what ingredients to look for/be weary of.  Apparently lemon and lime oils can help with the fighting of dark spots, so I purchased a Kiss My Face brand citrus cleanser:

It has a very thick, rich appearance, like whipped cake frosting and smells mild and good.  Lemon, lime, and olive type of a fragrance, not at all unpleasant.  I will put a dollop of that on my clarisonic brush and use it with the hopes that it can brighten my complexion’s impurities.

Next up is the Invigorating Face Wash by Himalaya.  This wash made of cinnamon, lemon, and honey is more of a gel consistency with flecks of gold through it.  I plan to use one in the morning and other wash in the evening, haven’t decided on an order yet.  The scent is rather invigorating, I’d say….sort of cinnamon and mint I suppose I’d rate the fragrance as.

Post washing I will apply Burt’s Bees acne solutions spot treatment for any active acne that is present on my face.   It’s a liquid with a strong citrus slightly floral smell.  Not unpleasant, but sort of home cleanser like.

Last but not least, I have a Daily Essence 100% vegan Facial Moisturizer.  It’s just a basic moisturizer, creamy with jojoba oil and aloe vera.  Smells like most lotions such as Ponds, nothing stand out or bad.

Will review all of these products after I use them and keep you abreast of any progress!  Happy skin days ahead, hopefully

4 Responses to “Skin Program Begins”

  1. [fung'ke][blak][chik] Says:

    i used to have break out problems…as well..right now they usually happen around my forehead when i’m stressed out…

    as a facial wash..i use johnson & johnson baby wash…only because I realized it was the same thing as the Johnson & Johnson “Purpose” cleanser..and at more than half the price!

    i do love the daily essential most.

  2. Mizz Mitch Says:

    I came across a link for you page when searching for reviews about Miss Jessie’s Super Sweetback.

    Here’s what I have to say about the acne. 1.) I’ve had the same problem for years, I’m 23 and it still hasn’t fully subsided. 2.) Birth Control works like a dream. My face was immaculate while I was on the pill. If you don’t like the idea of taking birth control pills/ patch/ ring you may want to try 3.) Clinique’s “Even Better” foundation with SPF 15. It’s supposed to clear up the dark spots on your skin, but it also helps to keep the acne at bay. 4.) Give your products a chance to work. I hate having bumps on my face too, but you have to give it time, and don’t stress about it (stress make the acne worse). 5.) Drink all of the water your body can bear. Good Luck.

  3. MeMe Says:

    Hi!
    You’re skin is pretty similar to mine, therefore we are on the same quest 🙂 There are so many days when I just don’t want to put foundation on but at the same time I feel it’s a must. I am 26! Please let me know how those products work for you. I’ve been using pure shea butter on my face for the past month and a half. My skin feels smoother but the spots aren’t fading as quickly as I’d like, ugh! Anyway, send me an e-mail and let me know how those new products work for you.

    Best Wishes!

  4. Skincare/Hair Products Reviews « Socialite Dreams's Weblog Says:

    […] Products Reviews March 13, 2010 — Socialite Dreams As promised in my previous skincare posting, I am now updating with reviews of the products used.  For the most part, I am quite happy would […]


Leave a Reply

