Chicago Restaurant Week

This week, my wonderful city of Chicago is having Restaurant Week!  Being the total foodie that I am, this pleases me to no end.  For $22 at lunchtime or $32 at dinner, patrons can experience 3 courses of  fine dining at places they may have otherwise not been able to afford, especially in this shady economy.

I’ve been dining like royalty, munching on crab legs at Joe’s Stone Crab accompanied by sweet potato fries, rich bisque,  cheese and spinach covered tomatoes, and a latte alongside my banana foster’s pie.  The ambiance is so cool there, seems like Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. would feel at home in the restaurant, knocking back dirty martinis and winking at classy ladies.  Overall Grade: A

A different day, we ventured over to N9ne Steakhouse, a fabulously cool restaurant with the best coconut cream pie and macaroons this side of heaven.  And the carrot cake, when they have it on the menu, is good enough to make you sell trade secrets to secure some.  I am appalled that at this moment it is not on the menu, and will be HEAVILY disappointed if they do not return it there at least during the summer, which is when I first tried it.  *Shakes finger disapprovingly at the N9ne*   Anyway, the lobster risotto is succulent and bright, a creamy delicacy with lobster pieces, sweet corn, truffle oil, and pops of sweet pea for color.  I could have honestly just eaten that as my whole meal, just keep it coming please!  As well, I managed to polish off a couple pieces of my mom’s rock shrimp with a spicy sweet dipping chili sauce, hanger steak accompanied by garlic fries (do NOT eat those on a date unless making out is not on the agenda….or at least carry those convenient wisp toothbrushes), bisque again (hey, i like bisque!  Don’t judge me!), and a dessert of brownie bread pudding that had no bread and no pudding so pretty much ended up as a brownie with a slightly fancier if not confusing name.  I give the restaurant and service an A+

For a full listing of restaurant week participants, please check out this list: Restaurant Week Chicago I look forward to checking out more restaurants and grading them on my blog, look out for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

