Cornrows for the Win

My best friend came over and gave me cornrows; I’m so grateful since I can’t do them myself!  They aren’t for style right now, just wanted a protective style and wearing wigs over them when I leave the house.  Next time that I do them, we’re going to practice with extensions, that should be an adventure, lol.  It doesn’t LOOK hard to do the cornrows with added hair, but we shall SEEEEEEE, verdad?

Cowashed with Organix shea butter conditioner and olive oil, then braided with the amla/olive cream and sprayed with my aloe concoction.  Yay for protective winter styles!  I’ll leave these in for a week or two I suppose, spraying every day with my aloe grow spray and maybe slathering on some coconut oil to seal.

below, pic of me wigging it out 🙂  Easy instant makeover:

Wigging it

Winter is certainly in full effect out here! I’m so over the cold, snow, ice, chilly winds.  Can it be spring already?  To get our minds off of the ferocious coldness, my friend and I were contemplating where we need to take a vacation for next year so that We can have time to save.  Top two trip contenders at the moment are Italy (Rome, Florence, etc)  and Brazil (not sure what city or anything).

brazil

Italy Trevi Fountain

I’ve been to Italy, which was amazingly beautiful and historical, great food too so I’ve always wanted to go back, but it’d be nice to try somewhere new right?  In that vein, Brazil would be amazing.  My mom has been there, but I have not, so it would be a fab experience I’d say.  Hell, either of the two beats cold Chicago right now!  Even if it’s cold there, it’d be a change of cold scenery, so good enough for me!  Have you been to either place?  What were your experiences?

hair hero:  watching This Is It movie and anytime I tear my eyes away from Michael I am admiring Judith Hill’s awesome hair

3 Responses to “Cornrows for the Win”

  1. Nickie Says:

    I like that you’re not afraid to experiment with wigs and stuff. That one looks pretty on you, but I love your curls too.

  2. rockforeveron Says:

    Judith Hill’s hair is epic.

    I love how consistent that man was — all these years later and Diana Ross’ fuckoff afro is still something that he’s got a thing for.

  3. Christine Says:

    Cornrows are great for wigs. Each time i wanna wear a wig i basically get cornrows. Right now i am working on trying to cornrow my own hair by myself which is hard. I will soon start learning how to do extensions hopefully. Goodluck!!


Leave a Reply

