You?? Natural?? *LE GASP*

My friends were all shocked that I would do such a thing as go natural with my hair, seeing as to how I was the main one discouraging them from doing it at any given point.  Guess the me of yesteryears is totally different from the me of today.  With growth comes change!  I used to have thick, pretty, luscious hair down to my bra strap, even voted best hair in 6th grade by my class *takes bow*  “thank you, thank you”.  Had been getting relaxers for years, but a mild one and my hair was fine.  Then my sophomore year in high school, my aunt started in the hair industry and my mom took me to her for my hair and let’s just say, BIG mistake…shedding, broken off pieces, too much spritz, too much gel…I had to cry in the sink as I washed my hair and it fell out, rinsed away in the soapy suds down the drain.  I had to get it cut to almost my shoulders, lots of inches and layers.  Then my hair was burned by crimping irons and destroyed, like it needed MORE trauma.  After ups, downs, bobs, weaves, wigs, braids and everything else, I decided enough was enough.  Haven’t relaxed my hair since December 2008 and let it grow until September then voila!  CHOP.

My hair is now in the lil headband, a cute baby lamb fro 🙂  I bought the 4A hair curly products kit from curlmart and had my mom twist it when I wash it or do little braids so that I can unravel and have some curls. Its fun, but i decided to switch it up a bit.

Mid october I decided to get kinky twists so that it can grow and I’d have a bit of variety.  I make sure to moisturize everyday because my hair is a black pit when it comes to moisture, just soaks it up and makes it appear as if it was never there to begin with.  I am excited to be on the natural journey, especially after seeing all of these amazing pictures of hair.  I’m not sure that we have the same type of hair and if it’s possible, but Tracie Thoms is my hair hero and I want mine just like hers.

This big bouncy fro is also MARVELOUS

5 Responses to “You?? Natural?? *LE GASP*”

  1. Monica Says:

    Your hair looks great.If you are moisturizing correctly and still having dryness sometimes the culprit is hard water. Try using distilled water to spritz or style with.

  2. Miss Fizzy Says:

    Ooh your hair looks beautiful! I love the pic of tracie thoms. I need to get me some highlights. Wonder if I can get that look with a braid out…. *goes off to experiment..*

  3. Hair Plus Says:

    Nice information on this site. I like it You should visit my site if you have time.


Leave a Reply

