The Other Boleyn Girl

Other Boleyn Girl

Okay, so I can not praise this movie enough! I’m such a buff for history, scandal, royalty, good names, etc that this was right up my alley.  Come on, what’s better than elaborate outfits, scandalous romances that change the course of history, and hot men like Eric Bana?  A girl couldn’t ask for anything better to watch on a Saturday evening with her mummy, I tell you.  I know, I know, the movie isn’t COMPLETELY historically accurate, but it was still a fun watch 😀

Scarlett Johansson Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman played her role well, the devious little minx!  I loved her as the scandalous Anne, she did the role justice.  Scarlett wasn’t bad either, as the sweetheart Mary, but as most sweethearts go, she isn’t the one that history remembers.  We do love the bold ones, huh?  Eric Bana earned my lust with his portrayal of King Henry VIII.  What a horny dog he was; jeez he let that girl change the course of England forever!  Go Anne!  And I’m not spoiling anything, not my fault if you don’t know your history; this DID happen 500 years ago.

It was exactly what  I hoped, in line with my love of stories like “Push Not the River” by James Conroyd Martin and “A Woman of Passion” by Virginia Henley.  Now I simply MUST go read the book “The Other Boleyn Girl“.  Books usually are better than the movies and my god, I’ll be captivated surely if this one lives up to that!

2 Responses to “The Other Boleyn Girl”

  1. Coach Says:

    I was putting this movie off but now I gotta watch it!

  2. maysum Says:

    I love Phillipa Gregory – I’ve been reading her books for the past 7-8 years, and of all of them ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’ is my favourite. The BBC did a period drama based on the book a couple of years ago – and to be honest it wasn’t that great, they messed around with the storyline too much.

    However, I liked the film – but again, the book is *so* much better.

    Hope you enjoy it :o)


Leave a Reply

