Don’t Believe the Hype

This post is inspired by Afrobella’s post concerning the hype around Carol’s Daughter products. We all have favorite products, often times purchased because we heard our favorite celebrity has it or know bloggers who rave about it, or the company just has a strong following *cough* MAC *cough*.

Then, once purchased, even if it doesn’t live up to what it should, we often overlook it because we have it so ingrained that it works! Some products that I used to buy, just because I convinced myself that they worked fabulously, are MAC lipglosses…They can be quite sticky and annoying, but just because they were my first introduction to something other than drugstore makeup, I stuck to them for years without even trying other brands. Then, there’s the Great Lash by Maybelline that always wins as consumer choice and makeup artists rave about it, etc etc. That stuff is WHACK. I mean, it’s nothing special, nothing to win accolades. I like the pink and green packaging, but that product is #1 in my book as having completely benefitted from WAY too much hype.

What are some of the products that you think have succeeded from too much hype? What are some that you brainwashed yourself into thinking was awesome, even with all signs pointing to “Oh hell no!”?

12 Responses to “Don’t Believe the Hype”

  1. tokyostargirl Says:

    Totally feeling you on this one!
    I feel the same way about Great Lash, but you beat me to it!

  2. Amina Says:

    great post!
    CD Products are way overrated. I used to be a big supporter until the quality changed. So now, I don’t tell people what I think anymore because they will always be die hard fans!

    MAC lipglosses. too sticky! i love the lustreglass finish better..

    NARS ORGASM: on dark skin…hmmmm…you can find a cheaper alternative
    same thing with NARS Exhibit A…you can find a cheaper alternative. I still believe that NARS blushes are the best though for women of color..but these two are always on top two…and a bit overrated…

  3. Bombchell Says:

    yup agree, not everything MAC is great, or worth it, but some are just divine.

    but Carol’s Daughther, I dont know I’ve never used it, didn’t seem cheap, especially when many of the ladies advertising it Are Wearing Weaves?????? [shrugs]

  4. nblades Says:

    I completely agree! I used to use MAC all of the time but it was awful on my skin–caused all kinds of irritations and dryness. The only thing I really like are their eyeshadows. But the lipglosses are waaay too sticky.

    I’m also feeling you on Carol’s Daughter. Their scents are a little too sweet, the lotions are runny and the hair stuff leaves you feeling greasy. But I definitely felt like there was all this crazy pressure to love the products.

    It’s interesting, some things just get a really good buzz about them and that’s all they need. It’s kinda like Pinkberry. I just don’t get it. But I can’t be mad at them for having amazing marketing!

    N*

  5. jGrrl Says:

    I never found anything remarkable about Great Lash, I even found some cheap dollar store gunk that worked as well, lol. I do have to say that the hype behind Cover Girl “Lash Blast” is damn close to bang on, I have super fine pale lashes and though they’re long – what good are they if you can’t damn see them? The Lash Blast is unreal :-)

    Great post by the way, I have no idea how I got here but I’m glad I did!

  6. Vettie Says:

    I wish I read this before I went out this evening, I just bought 2 Great Lash mascaras for $3.95, I guess I’ll be returning them tomorrow.

  7. Mary Says:

    hey–saw your website on the people stylewatch page, and I love it!
    I am loving those Ed Hardy golashes….
    I am putting together my blogroll now, you will be on it—
    check mine out, and I hope you can add mine, too!

    Cheers,
    Mary
    http://www.alistbaby.net

  8. Sandra Says:

    Mineral make-up. It claims to cover, conceal, work for all skin types, and be so gentle/hypoallergenic that “you can sleep in it!”

    BS, all of it. I think mineral makeup is a trend we’ll look back on wonder why so many jumped on the bandwagon.

  9. Socialite Dreams Says:

    I am so with you on the mineral makeup, Sandra! I was never a big fan of it

  10. Carol Says:

    I kinda disagree in regard to the mineral makeup. Bare Minerals and Bare Escentuals are CRAPPY mineral makeup brands as they contain bismuth oxychloride which does not add much coverage to skin.Bare Mineral and Bare Escentuals as well as Covergirl, Maybelline, and Sheer Cover have REALLY tainted the mineral makeup industry. There are, however, mineral makeups out there that give high coverage and are 100% natural.

    So “pure you can sleep in it”….pshhh..how many dermatologists have recommended you to SLEEP in makeup? Bare Minerals = liars.

    Carol’s Daughter is extremely overrated, and some of her products DO contain chemical preservatives.The scents are overbearing and the products are entirely too greasy. I don’t advise any woman to waste their money on Carol’s Daughter..they’d get better results using straight vegetable oil.

  11. Vanyel Says:

    I wanted to try Carol’s Daughter products. I ordered products on 11/24/08, and waited and waited for my shipment. After calling her company, I was told on 12/7/08 that my long awaited order had never shipped but my credit card was billed!! AW HELL NO! Back to the drugstore for my products. Thanks for nothing Carol’s Daughter.

  12. ed hardy Says:

    I really like this article and have enjoyed reading. Nice article, love the post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

